Subject: Boundary conditions for CMIP5 paleo simulations

Date: Tue, 22 Dec 2009 09:05:12 -0800

From: Karl Taylor <taylor13@llnl.gov>

Reply-To: Pascale Braconnot <pascale.braconnot@lsce.ipsl.fr>

To: Mats Bentsen <mats.bentsen@nersc.no>, Helge Drange <helge.drange@gfi.uib.no>, Greg Flato <gflato@ec.gc.ca>, Seita Emori <emori@nies.go.jp>, Toru Nozawa <nozawa@nies.go.jp>, Jean-Francois Royer <jean-francois.royer@meteo.fr>, Tony Hirst <Tony.Hirst@csiro.au>, Ronald Stouffer <Ronald.Stouffer@noaa.gov>, "Gary L. Russell" <Gary.L.Russell@nasa.gov>, Gavin Schmidt <gschmidt@giss.nasa.gov>, Tianjun Zhou <zhoutj@lasg.iap.ac.cn>, Evgeny Volodin <volodin@inm.ras.ru>, Jean-Louis Dufresne <Jean-Louis.Dufresne@lmd.jussieu.fr>, Max Suarez <Max.J.Suarez@nasa.gov>, Shoji Kusunoki <skusunok@mri-jma.go.jp>, Jerry Meehl <meehl@ucar.edu>, Yong Luo <yluo@cma.gov.cn>, Ying Xu <xuying@cma.gov.cn>, Seung-Ki Min <seung-ki.min@ec.gc.ca>, Wilhelm May <wm@dmi.dk>, Silvio Gualdi <gualdi@bo.ingv.it>, Shan Sun <ssun@giss.nasa.gov>, Shuting Yang <shuting@dmi.dk>, Qingquan Li <liqq@cma.gov.cn>, Stephanie Legutke <legutke@dkrz.de>, Andreas Hense <ahense@uni-bonn.de>, Marco Giorgetta <marco.giorgetta@zmaw.de>, Won-Tae Kwon <wontk@korea.kr>, Julia Slingo <J.M.Slingo@reading.ac.uk>, James Hurrell <jhurrell@ucar.edu>, GFDL.Climate.Model.Info@noaa.gov, Tongwen Wu <twwu@cma.gov.cn>, Masahide Kimoto <kimoto@ccsr.u-tokyo.ac.jp>, Kamal Puri <K.Puri@bom.gov.au>, Chris Jones <chris.d.jones@metoffice.gov.uk>, Mat Collins <matthew.collins@metoffice.gov.uk>, Bin Wang <wab@lasg.iap.ac.cn>, Jozef Syktus <Jozef.Syktus@climatechange.qld.gov.au>, Zaizhi Wang <wzz@cma.gov.cn>, Len Shaffrey <L.C.Shaffrey@reading.ac.uk>, Isaac Held <Isaac.Held@noaa.gov>, Tom Delworth <Tom.Delworth@noaa.gov>, Larry Horowitz <larry.horowitz@noaa.gov>, Wilco Hazeleger <Wilco.Hazeleger@knmi.nl>, Stephen Jeffrey <Stephen.Jeffrey@climatechange.qld.gov.au>, David Salas-Melia <David.Salas@meteo.fr>, Laurent Terray <Laurent.Terray@cerfacs.fr>, Leon Rotstayn <Leon.Rotstayn@csiro.au>, John Hughes <john.hughes@metoffice.gov.uk>, Sandrine Bony <Sandrine.Bony@lmd.jussieu.fr>, Arun Kumar <Arun.Kumar@noaa.gov>, Michio Kawamiya <kawamiya@jamstec.go.jp>, HJ Baek <heejbaek@korea.kr>, YH Byun <yhbyun@korea.kr>, Wenjie Dong <dongwj@bnu.edu.cn>, Yongjiu Dai <yongjiudai@bnu.edu.cn>, Bryan Lawrence <bryan.lawrence@stfc.ac.uk>, Thomas Stocker <stocker@ipcc.unibe.ch>, Stéphane Senesi <Stephane.Senesi@meteo.fr>

On behalf of Pascale Braconnot and the PMIP bureau, I forward you this announcement. For further information, please contact Pascale.

Dear all,

The final version of the boundary conditions for the CMIP5 paleoclimate simulations that are part or tier1 (Last glacial Maximum and mid-Holocene), and tier 2 (Last millenium), are now available on PMIP3 website (http://pmip3.lsce.ipsl.fr/). The guideline is attached to this email.

I would like to thanks all colleagues who contributed to the definition of the boundary conditions. All the groups are now invited to run these experiments with their “CMIP5” version of models. I hope that we’ll see lots of projects using past-present and future climate simulations to understand different aspects of the climate system and of climate change.

“Merry Christmas “

Pascale (for the PMIP bureau).

Pascale Braconnot <pascale.braconnot@lsce.ipsl.fr <mailto:pascale.braconnot@lsce.ipsl.fr>> IPSL/LSCE, unité mixte CEA-CNRS-UVSQ

MadWiki: Email-karl-taylor-22-dec-09 (last edited 2009-12-22 20:15:00 by IlseHamann)